Design

Project 1 Flier

Sarah-Barrett_InDesign-Flier

  1. Description: This is my promotional flier for the Vouant Communications Graduate Leadership Conference, designed for my Visual Communications class at BYU-Idaho.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I created this flier using Adobe In-Design. I started by sketching a few ideas onto paper and decided on this design. I used young, fun fonts to attract graduates and the repeating grey and black bubbles to tie everything together. I made the photo of the young people laughing the focal point so the audience’s eyes would be drawn to the excitement first.
  3. Message: The message in this design is to invite recent or nearly graduated students to a fun and exciting leadership conference so they can learn more about being a leader in the workplace. What I wanted most is to show the audience that this would be a fun, uplifting experience.
  4. Audience: The audience for this design is recent or near-graduates and I used fun fonts and patterns to try and attract their attention.
  5. Top Thing Learned: I learned the importance of a great layout and white space and how to make those two principles work together to make a visually appealing design.
  6. Title Font Name & Category: COCOGOOSE, sans serif
  7. Copy Font Name & Category: Californian FB, serif
  8. Links to images used in this projectPHOTO
5 thoughts on “Project 1 Flier

  1. This looks really great! It is so creatively designed, I feel like you really used original ideas in creating it. I like the shapes and how everything flows really well, even though it isn’t all aligned perfectly. You really used that to your advantage here, and it worked very well. I thought the placement for the logo was interesting but left a ton of places for the white space to escape. Great job. Beth Mullen also used circles, but aligned everything along with it. I liked how both turned out. Check hers out at https://bethmulllen.wordpress.com/2016/01/24/project-1-flier/

    Like

  2. This is awesome, Sarah! I really like how creative you were with the shapes and cropping of the photo. I actually thought of doing something similar with my picture but i wasn’t sure how. You nailed it and it fits really well with the rest of your design. I love how the people in the picture are looking in towards the page so that takes me attention as the reader towards the body of the text.
    https://bethanybyui.wordpress.com/2016/01/24/project-1-flier/

    Like

  3. I love your poster! I love the contrast you provided with having both grey and black circles. I also like that you outlined your photo with the circle to make it stand out and be more prominent on the page. I think you did really well with choosing fonts for this project, since it’s an advertisement project that makes a huge difference. I love the complimentary oldstyle with sans serif. Amazing job! You should also check out Breanne Gibb’s poster. https://breannegibb.wordpress.com/2016/01/24/project-1-flier/

    Like

  4. I liked the concept you used of circles instead of the block designs that we are used to, I see this as a great contrast and attention getter that is great for advertising. I really found this one and my eye was drawn to it in class among all of the other flyers that had the same information on them. I hope to have your opinions and critiques on my project as well. Awesome Job!
    https://naomibergie.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

