Design

P3 Activity: Photography

SarahBarrett-01-LightOutside

Light 1: Outside

SarahBarrett-05-LightInside

Light 2: Inside

SarahBarrett-03-ForegroundFocus

Focus 1: Foreground

SarahBarrett-04-BackgroundFocus

Focus 2: Background

SarahBarrett-06-GridLines

Composition 1: Thirds

SarahBarrett-02-LeadRoom

Composition 2: Lead Room

My process with this project was first to recall what I knew about each principle and then learn more so I could have a perfect idea of how to take my pictures and what to take my pictures of. I am by no means a professional (clearly), but I know the basics of photo-taking and focus. With my first image, I wanted to get a lot of the sky in it so you could see the different depths and textures of the clouds. For the indoor light photo, I took a picture of my roommate’s Star Wars M&Ms dispenser that sits beside the lamp to show how different indoor lighting is. While I was in the car later that day, I had my camera on and I could see how the lens was focusing in on the texture of the zipper on my purse. So, I took two pictures. One with the zipper as the focus, and the other focusing past it, on the texture of my jeans.

Finally, I took composition photos. I evenly spaced my roommates (and giant teddy bear) to have them fill each third of the grid. The picture for lead room was actually a photo I had taken earlier that day on the way to Cafe Rio when I was messing around with my camera. And it worked!

Leave a comment