Design

Project 3: Photodesign

P3_SarahBarrett

  1. Description: Demonstrate good photography and simple Photoshop editing while incorporating a color scheme throughout the design.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I did not pick a color scheme first, since I had no idea what I would be photographing. I took several pictures before deciding on this one and then I found a color scheme within it and went from there. This picture has a natural split-complementary color scheme (blue, orange, gold) and I enhanced it by doing some simple Photoshop editing. I started by adjusting the levels to add some more depth and contrast to the photo. Then I increased the vibrance to bring out the color of the orange leaves more. I enhanced the colors even more by using the selective color tool. Finally, I sharpened the bark on the trees to add more depth. I found an excellent quote that I felt captured the image’s purpose, so I placed the image onto a new document and made it smaller and put it towards the top left corner so I could have room to put my quote. I used the eye-dropper to find a background color in the first tree. To get the old and worn effect that’s around the image, I created a layer mask and used the rough round bristle paint brush to “paint” away the edges. After that was complete, I created new layers and used the same brush to create the little color swatch blobs on the side of the design and used the eyedropper tool to find the right colors from my color scheme in the photo. Some final touches include an orange drop shadow on my quote, drop shadows on the color swatches, and a small stroke on the color scheme name to make it more readable.
  3. Message: The message for this piece is to remember to find the light in yourself in even the darkest, coldest times. I wanted this design to be peaceful and calm, but also motivational.
  4. Audience: The audience for this piece will most likely be people who are in need of a little inspiration or a reminder that you can always find light and warmth, even in summer.
  5. Top Thing Learned: Most of the editing principles we did in this project were ones I already was familiar with. Brother Judkin’s critique reminded me that I need to keep some things simple, have more white space, so my focal point really is the focal point.
  6. Color scheme and color names: Split Complementary: Orange, Gold, Blue
  7. Quote Font Name & Category: Goudy Old Style (oldstyle) and I’m Fashionista! (script)
  8. Color Scheme Font Name & Category: Javanese Text (serif)
  9. Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted

original thumbnail

  1. Date and location you took the photo(s): February 3, 2016 at the Ricks Gardens
4 thoughts on “Project 3: Photodesign

  1. Hey Sarah! I really like the color scheme that you used with the picture. The colors are so vibrant! I also like how you changed the typography within the quote to emphasize key words. The way you added the frayed edges also makes the project as a whole more interesting. Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

